top of page

Takeaway Homeworks

What I have done

With my P6 class this year I have been trialling a new approach to homework. I have a bottom set group, and in maths they get 2 homeworks a week. I have used one of these for "normal" homework, and the other for what is called a takeaway homework. This is an idea that I first came across here (http://mrcollinsmaths.blogspot.pe/2015/01/takeaway-homework-2015.html)

What is a takeaway homework

The idea of a takeaway homework is that each student is given a restaurant styled menu from which they can choose which task they want to do for their homework each week. The menu is divided into four sections (starter, main, dessert, specials). Each section has tasks of a similar timescale, and this is designated by the number of "chilis" assigned to that section (Starters are 1 "chili", Desserts are 2 "chilis", Mains are 3 "chilis" and Specials are 4 "chilis"). As a reference, each "chili" indicates approximately 10 minutes of work.

Takeaway Menu

Each week the students choose which item they would like to do from the menu. Over the course of the bimester they must accumulate a total of 16 chilis (an average of 2 per week) including at least 2 mains or specials.

What is the point?

I introduced this idea with several goals in mind:

  1. We have a problem in maths with students getting lots of help when completing their homework. This is often from a tutor at home, but can also be working with peers or parents to complete the work. This then makes some homework tasks pointless, as the students are not getting the practice they need, and I as a teacher am not able to assess what the student knows from the piece of work. With the takeaway homework, this is not a problem, as the tasks involved are not just practising skills.

  2. I was hoping to develop some student independence over their work and time management. They need to be aware of how many "chilis" they have already done, and how many they have left to collect.

  3. To create some more student engagement in their work. As they are able to choose the task they want to do, and do it in any number of ways, my hope was they would have more ownership over their learning.

  4. To find a way for students to demonstrate their understanding of the topics we have been working on in class that is not just through testing and in class formative assessment.

What I have found?

The evidence I have collected is very anecdotal, and I have no baseline for this actual class with which to compare. However in general I have found that students have been much more engaged in these tasks than with other homework, with some even doing more than the minimum 16 chilis. The work has been of an invariably high standard, in particular with regards to the effort that students have put into each piece.

Students have also enjoyed the actual process of claiming the chilis (I write how many chilis they get next to the work, then in class they show it to me, I stamp it off, and give them stickers which they stick to the display showing how many chilis they have got). This in its own right has worked as a form of positive reinforcement.

Where next?

I am continuing with this process for the rest of the year, and I am contemplating using it with students higher up the school as well (I think the creative elements of the tasks could be hugely beneficial to IB students). I have also thought about using the menu as an extension task in class as well, where when a student finishes the main task, they can then choose a task from the menu.

Pointers for people wishing to try it

  1. Don’t expect perfect results straight away. It took me a bimester to train most of the students to produce relevant material.

  2. Give guidance that content is more important than making it look pretty!

  3. Don’t award chilis until a piece is complete, but allow students to take 2 weeks to complete a task. Still require to see a piece of work (complete or not) each week, and use this to give Hs if necessary.

  4. Set all your homeworks on the intranet in week 1!

Resources

I have attached my version of the takeaway homework here (or an editable word doc). You can use this as it is, but I would recommend you adapt it to your subject and teaching style.

Tags

Archives

Categories

Categories

bottom of page