top of page

12 Steps to a "Great Teacher" reputation


The agile teacher… responsive, risk-taking, juggling continually.

Introduction

I’m celebrating writing my 100th post, by trying to link together various posts relating to teaching. I suggest in my post ‘How do I know how good my teachers are?’ that there are three key sources that contribute to my judgement of the effectiveness of my teaching staff:

  • Data – the measured outcomes from assessments and examinations

  • Observation – those artificial snapshots of teaching that are over-loaded with significance in the OfSTED process.

  • Knowledge – the drip-feed of micro-feedback gleaned organically from multiple sources: Essentially this is what I mean by Reputation.

So, whilst ideally we shouldn’t worry too much what other people think of us, in the context of being judged as a professional teacher, having a strongly positive reputation is a great asset. It may be the most accurate indicator of the impact we’re having on our students and, actually, our reputational standing is the area over which we have greatest control day-to-day. This is my guide to success in building a reputation as a ‘great teacher’ that will help you ride-out the fickle storms of formal teacher-evaluation processes.

Tags

Archives

Categories

Categories

bottom of page