top of page

MITT Experience

I was already teaching at Markham before I joined the MITT programme and I decided to take part in it because it was a great opportunity to improve my practice and to learn more background pedagogy. I also knew that it would be a very useful qualification to have for the future.

From the MITT workshops I have found I have been able to apply what I have learnt immediately in my own classroom. One workshop that I remember vividly was the workshop on methods of class management. In this workshop I learnt how to control the behaviour of the class through ways that protected my voice, and I have found this especially useful when working with middle school classes.

I also found the workshop on lesson planning really helped me improve my practice as I learned how to structure my lessons more logically and this has led to better student progress.

I would recommend this programme to any teacher who has only a few years of experience and who does not have a formal teaching qualification. I feel it would benefit these teachers as it will help them develop good habits when teaching and also develop better strategies for preparing for classes and when in class.

If you would like to ask me any questions about my experiences feel free to catch me in the staff room.

Tammy Chion

MITT cohort 2016- 2017b

Tags

Archives

Categories

Categories

bottom of page